You found what in the drain?!?!

Just as soon as you think you’ve heard it all, you haven’t. Our chaplain likes to use that phrase, and today I found myself saying it as well.

One of the sinks in our kitchen had been plugged for the past couple of days. We had a gentleman come in today to work on it. Being a rather large campus, we have lots of sinks and they just get plugged from time to time. It’s no big deal. But today it was a little different.

When we’ve had to fix such problems, we have found all kinds of things to be the source of the, shall we say, obstruction. Tree roots and coffee grounds are two of the most common culprits. But neither one is to blame for this incident.

The individual who was working on the sink worked for quite some time. When he had finally finished, he came to me with a mischievous smile on his face. “I think I found the problem, Sister. This was in the trap.” He held out his hand and I was a little hesitant to look. I have been through this before and frequently it is not exactly a show and tell item. I looked down and couldn’t believe my eyes.

A Miraculous Medal! How it ever got there, I have no idea. But isn’t that exactly how God works in our lives?

We think it’s a blockage, a problem. And depending how you look a particular situation it might be just that. Or maybe it is God sending a message such as, “Slow down! I want to tell you how much I love you!” or “Not right now. I have better things planned for you.”

For me today it was as if He had sent Our Most Blessed Mother right into the midst of what was clogging me. It was a message from our loving God that He has given us His Mother to be with us in all the events of our life…even the most draining.

I am not suggesting that you start dropping religious items down the sink, but maybe think twice before dismissing small annoyances as such. Just perhaps they are really opportunities for a contemplative moment. After all, we haven’t heard it all.

Published in: on June 2, 2010 at 10:52 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://carmelitesisters.wordpress.com/2010/06/02/you-found-what-in-the-drain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. “It was a message from our loving God that He has given us His Mother to be with us in all the events of our life…even the most draining.” lol, Great pun and a great reminder that not everything is as it seems =)


Leave a Reply

